We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Another New Iceland (+ bonus mixes) / DW035

by Disciples Of Spess

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €12 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Dispatched by Young and Cold Records / Germany

    Includes unlimited streaming of Another New Iceland (+ bonus mixes) / DW035 via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      €23.50 EUR or more 




VINYL VERSION (out April 2022):Translucent blue vinyl (100 copies) or standard black (200 copies), inc. double sided insert + download code. PRE-ORDER at www.deadwaxrecords.es

The collection of Disciples of Spess’s songs that we have curated for our vinyl release are the band’s earliest recordings. Some were recorded in the basement and attic room of a travel agents, squashed between the glossy brochures advertising holidays in exotic locations or gazing across the glittering spires and imposing chimneys of Wrexham. All were recorded with the lovely expectation of creating the band’s own music with whatever personal talents and abilities they could muster at the time. Really this is the classic band tale of a group of teenage friends forming a band and trying to write their own songs. As simple as that. They managed to self-release two cassette singles that are basically impossible to find and a 7” single with 1986 re-recordings of their songs ‘Another New Iceland’ and ‘Here’, the only Spess stuff that you may have come across until today.

We are pleased to bring you this collection of early Disciples of Spess recordings for the first time ever, all of them being previously unreleased songs / versions, all coming from the original ¼” reel tapes sounding spectacularly, presented as a limited, hand numbered VINYL edition split in two colours; 100 copies in translucent blue and 200 in standard black, housed in a matt finish sleeve with a double sided insert and download code. There’s also a unique chance of purchasing a bundle of the album together with an original, new old stock copy of the 1987 single mentioned before!!!


released April 4, 2022


All music and lyrics by Disciples Of Spess.

Always The Same, Anna, Big After Christmas (1st mixes, 08.06.1984), (2nd mixes, 19.10.1984) – Produced by Max Rooks and Disciples Of Spess at RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Another New Iceland (original and extended versions, 03.02.1985) – Produced by Max Rooks, engineered by Neil Bougourd at RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Song For Sean And Joanne (Descending Together) (1985) – Produced by Rob Jones at RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Here (original version), The Child With The Mirror (11.07.1986) – Produced and engineered by Rob Jones, Max Rooks, “Moose” and Disciples Of Spess at RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Another New Iceland (7" Jonsson version and Bradshaw alternative version), Here (7" version) (23-25.10.1986) – Produced by Andy Blythe and Disciples Of Spess at Swallow Studios, Cheshire.

Desecration Situation (1st mix, 18.09.1987) – Produced by Rob Jones and Disciples Of Spess at RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Love Song (And I Cry) (1st mix, 1988) – Produced by Disciples Of Spess at Spirit Studios, Tariff Street, Manchester and RPM Studios, Wrexham.

Disciples of Spess through the years:

Mathew Seamarks – Vocals, guitars, bass (1982-today)
Edward Bowen – Guitars, keyboards, programming (1982-today)
Huw Jones – Keyboards, piano, drums (1985-today)
Michael Tunney – Bass, backing vocals (1986-today)
Charles Stanley – Bass, guitars, keyboards (1985-1989)
Richard Austin – Bass, keyboards, guitars (1982-1984)
Nick Chapman – Drums (1983-1984)
John Speed – Vocals, harmonica (1982-1983)
Richard Haydn Morris – Improvised blank verse (1982)

Transferred and mastered from the original ¼” reel tapes by Nicolás Zúñiga.
Artwork by David Lanna.


all rights reserved



Dead Wax Records Madrid, Spain

Dead Wax Records is an independent label just like the ones in the early 80s. We do everything ourselves out of pure passion for music, focusing mainly on post-punk, minimal & cold wave, synthpop, goth rock / pop. Quality music always, lost forgotten jewels in need of a second chance, recently discovered treasures that will see the light for the first time.

Music doesn’t stop on the Dead Wax!!
... more

contact / help

Contact Dead Wax Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Another New Iceland (+ bonus mixes) / DW035, you may also like: