An Enigmatic Individual / DW013

by This Cold Night

Each Other 02:59
Holding On 03:18
Vessel 03:28
Lust 03:48
Dog 02:06
It's Not Ok 03:08



THIS COLD NIGHT is the moniker of solo artist Chase Morledge who began experimenting with music in a tiny, shared apartment room in Austin, Texas in 2014. Inspired by late 70s and early 80s music movements (cold wave, darkwave, minimal wave, new wave, no wave, and gothic rock) and modern equivalents, TCN sought to release a wholly uncompromising portrayal of the wicked thoughts in his addled little brain.
Like many artists, past and present, Chase retains complete control over his music. Playing, recording, and producing each and every track. This process has become a truly unhealthy obsession... Songs about Love, Loss, and Survival... choose your poison.

AN ENIGMATIC INDIVIDUAL is a compilation of our most beloved works by THIS COLD NIGHT that we thought should be necessarily put on wax. 16 songs chosen amongst the 8 digital only releases (downloads / cdr) that Chase offered through his Bandcamp site since he started publishing music in 2014. From Cold Wave to Goth Pop or Dark Wave, this young Texan promise offers an overwhelming array of dark, pulsing, danceable songs but loaded with his innermost feelings as reflected in his lyrics. Most of the songs have been mastered specially for vinyl from the original mixes, a few others retouched from the original masters to suit the vinyl format. A perfect sounding record!
An essential work of art that we bring you in the form of a limited, numbered LP+7” bundle (260 copies) including a download code, housed in a matt sleeve with black & silver pantone finish and a printed matt inner sleeve. The 7” comes in its own folded insert-sleeve and hand-stamped label.

You can find TCN’s complete digital catalogue at his Bandcamp site here:


released June 14, 2016

All songs written, performed and recorded by Chase Morledge between 2014 and 2016. ‘Silent Prayer’ co-written and sung with Gawby Weinstein.

‘Enigmatic Individual’ and ‘Dead, Cold, Autumn’ originally mixed and mastered by Jonas at Hype Cycle Studio, retouched for vinyl by Nicolás Zúñiga. All other songs mixed by Chase Morledge and Douglas Helsel, mastered by Nicolás Zúñiga.

Artwork by David Lanna from an original linocut by Liz Valasco. Photography (LP) by James Grantham and Caitlin Craighead. Photograph (single) by Gawby Weinstein.

Album dedicated to Doug.
“Without you, I would be nothing”


all rights reserved



Dead Wax Records Barcelona, Spain

Dead Wax Records is an independent label just like the ones in the early 80s. We do everything ourselves out of pure passion for music, focusing mainly on post-punk, minimal & cold wave, synthpop, goth rock / pop. Quality music always, lost forgotten jewels in need of a second chance, recently discovered treasures that will see the light for the first time.

Music doesn’t stop on the Dead Wax!!
... more

contact / help

Contact Dead Wax Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like An Enigmatic Individual / DW013, you may also like: